My First Read-Right Therapy Session

In About Alexia I mentioned the Read-Right therapy project at UCL, which aims to help people with reading problems caused by peripheral vision loss.

I’ve just tried a therapy session and it’s very interesting and fun to do. There is a rather good library of books to choose from, for example

Oscar Wilde, The picture of Dorian Gray
Terry Pratchett, The colour of magic
Arthur Conan Doyle, The adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Myrtle Reed, Lavender and old lace
Franz Kafka, Metamorphosis

I chose the Queen of Quock, a short children’s story by L. Frank Baum (author of the Wizard of Oz) and I thorough enjoyed reading it.

When you read a book the text is displayed as large blue letters scrollomg from right to left. You can pause and resume in the usual way, and also vary the speed. Here’s a screen shot from The colour of magic (click to enlarge).

Therapy

I’ve completed about half an hour of therapy. After 5 hours I need to take another online reading test. A total of about 15 hours is apparently needed to make an improvement to one’s reading. I’ll report on my progress!

About partialinsight

One evening I had a stroke. Half my sight vanished overnight. Adapting made me grasp how amazing the visual system and brain are. It also taught me to understand disability completely differently and I'm grateful for the lesson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

