Mummification? Well not exactly!

Yesterday I had a CT scan of my head to see if we can find out what caused my vision loss.

If you are interested in what the scanner looks like here is a picture of an Egyptian mummy being put through what I believe is the very same machine at Addenbrooke’s hospital.

http://www.fitzmuseum.cam.ac.uk/projects/ae/Diary/Progress_sep05.html

I’ve not had a CT scan before and didn’t know what to expect, so I felt quite apprehensive and I worried about all sorts of things like whether it would interfere with my mobile phone.

The appointment letter

For: CT Orbit with contrast Both

said the examination would take about half an hour.

But in fact it only took 30 seconds, which was a blessing! How I wish the letter had said (why didn’t it?) 30 seconds.

I just took off my jacket, reclined on the bed (like the mummy in the picture), the radiographer put a small pillow under my head and asked to close my eyes… and after a slightly longer 30 seconds than usual,(just before I dozed off) it was all done and the radiographer said “You are free to go now”.

So I scarpered.

About partialinsight

One evening I had a stroke. Half my sight vanished overnight. Adapting made me grasp how amazing the visual system and brain are. It also taught me to understand disability completely differently and I'm grateful for the lesson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mummification? Well not exactly!

  1. Pingback: Diagnosis on Clinic 3 | partialinsight

Leave a Reply

