Figure it out… making my blog more accessible

Oh dear. I goofed.

I promised (see ‘ Does my Blog Look Big in this?’) that whenever I include an image or diagram I’d provide a figure description.

But then a few days later I went right ahead and included a sketch showing what my hemianopia ‘looks’ like but forgot to make it accessible by giving a figure description.

So here’s the description I should have included in my last post, ‘Can I ever drive again?’

‘Sketch shows two circles, representing the visual field in the left and right eyes respectively. In the circle representing the left eye, the left-hand part is mostly white except for a small dark outlier. The right-hand part mostly black except for a grey strip near the centre and a smaller grey region further off. In the circle representing the right eye the left-hand part is all white. In the right-hand part there is a broad band of black near the centre but then the remainder is grey. This indicates nearly all right peripheral vision has been lost in the left eye, and most but not all of it in the right eye.’

You might like to see if you can reconstruct the sketch reasonably from the description, and then compare it with the sketch in the original post. I don’t know how well I’ve done. These figure descriptions are very difficult to write and although I’ve had a lot of practice writing them for Open University course materials I still find producing them very challenging.

About partialinsight

One evening I had a stroke. Half my sight vanished overnight. Adapting made me grasp how amazing the visual system and brain are. It also taught me to understand disability completely differently and I'm grateful for the lesson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Figure it out… making my blog more accessible

  1. Scot Muirden says:

    To whom it may concern, I was fascinated with your shared personal experiences of CBS. It appears as though your CBS was the consequence of stroke: an association which is terribly under-reported. I’m not sure where in the world you reside but here in Australia, my attempts thus far to draw attention to the risks of CBS due to stroke with the Stroke Foundation has been fruitless.
    I’m wondering whether it might be of interest for us to be in further contact? Kind regards, Scot

    • hi Scot, good to hear from you. I live in the UK. I think you are probably right about CBS being under-reported amongst stroke survivors, in fact CBS tends to be under-reported generally I believe, because suffers may be reluctant to speak about their symptoms and doctors and therapists don’t ask.

      I think also vision loss is apt to be overlooked as a sign of stroke, and also stroke victims with visual impairment don’t always get the support they need.

      To return to CBS, yes I’d be very interested to share information, I think it would help if people were far more aware of CBS. What was your experience?

      Kindest wishes, Rich

Leave a Reply

