The Eye Clinic and Me

I am now registered as visually impaired. It’s taken a little while.

Below I’ve tried to chart the process as a journey, from having a stoke onwards. There was quite a lot of puzzlement. I felt I was on a trip no-one had really explained to me.

A longish with the patient moving between between various medical professionals but not always sure what is happening

There are charities with pages about what to expect in the eye clinic, so I think it’s a recognized problem, but I wasn’t aware of these. So it was uncharted territory for me and I often didn’t know what would happen next.

When I got each letter it said please come to clinic N on date D, but what for? It didn’t really say and was sometimes a bit misleading, so I was a bit anxious and when I phoned Enquiries they didn’t have a real answer, it was just along the lines “Oh well he must want to see you”.

All the people I met on my journey were kindness itself and brilliant but they weren’t tour guides I guess, otherwise they’d have said where we were going next.

About partialinsight

One evening I had a stroke. Half my sight vanished overnight. Adapting made me grasp how amazing the visual system and brain are. It also taught me to understand disability completely differently and I'm grateful for the lesson.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

