On This Day

On this day 2013 I began this blog.

When I was a pre-teen I wanted to be a scientist. I had a book called Boy’s Book of HEROES and several scientists made the grade. I liked collecting things and doing experiments and reading about science and natural history. I had a microscope someone gave me.

Suddenly last September I had a stroke and immediately felt like that youthful would-be-scientist again. I was filled with curiosity and determined to put myself under the microscope and pin down what I saw. A blog was the obvious way to take notes.

I recruited my daughter (who blogs here) as a helper. I was shaky after the stroke, and my vision problems were quite bad at that time, so I relied on her to help set the blog up (me being very inexperienced in any case).

I needed lots of help: assistive software to dictate the posts and my daughter to edit them a bit, but together we managed to get this partialinsight blog up, and make the first post, just four days post-stroke. I’m proud of what we achieved.

They say curiosity killed the cat. It helped me survive.

 

About partialinsight

One evening I had a stroke. Half my sight vanished overnight. Adapting made me grasp how amazing the visual system and brain are. It also taught me to understand disability completely differently and I'm grateful for the lesson.
This entry was posted in Assistive technology, Blindness and visual impairment, Stroke, Disability, Cognition, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On This Day

  1. Lynne says:

    Happy blogiversary!

Leave a Reply

